21st Annual SOL Female Cross Country Cycling Classic

Female Winners

The 21st Annual SOL Female Cross Country Classic is organized by SOL Belize Ltd. and the Belize Cycling Association (BCA) under the regulations of the International Cycling Union and BCA.  It is to be held on Sunday the 16th of May, 2010.  The race will start at the Columbus Park in San Ignacio at 8:30 a.m. and head towards Belize City for culmination at the Memorial Park for a total of 70 miles of cycling.  The event is open to athletes of the Women’s Category and is registered as a class HC event with the first place winner earning a total of 100 points that are set aside toward obtaining the Female Cyclist of the Year Award.

Within the competition itself, there is another competition titled Queen of the Hill.  Throughout the journey, there are a total of 7 hills:  Floral Park, Go Slow, 3 Sisters, Brickwall, Old Man Hill, Cotton Tree and at the Belize Zoo.  The cyclist who crosses each hill first obtains 3 points, 2 are awarded for the one who crosses each hill 2nd and 1 for 3rd.  At the end of this competition the cyclist with the most points is awarded with $1,000.00 by SOL Belize Ltd.

Past champions of the Annual SOL Female Cross Country Classic include Camille Solis, Sonia Stilp, Anthea Sutherland, Fiona Humes, Marinette Flowers, Gina Lovell, Anamarie Bennett, Violet Morrison, Brenda Aguayo, Shalini Zabaneh and Paola Salazar.

About KREM
The idea for the KREM Radio station originated in early 1979 while Rufus X and I were visiting New Orleans. There was a New Orleans deejay I liked, by the name of Sister Love, and one day Rufus and his cousin, Sam Wiley, who was our host, showed me the building where the radio station which featured Sister Love was located. It was quite a modest, one flat structure, much smaller than the three story Albert Cattouse Building from where the Belize government monopoly station – Radio Belize – was broadcasting.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


Live Chat Software